#1 looniebeaver

looniebeaver

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 42 posts
  • LocationNorth Tetagouche

Posted 27 April 2012 - 04:41 PM

I am new to NB and was wondering if any conservation groups have ever considered reintroducing once common but extirpiated animals back into NB.I know southern Ontario has had an amazing turkey hunt the last 20 years and last year held the first elk hunt in eastern Ontario in many years due to reintroduction.To see the same thing done to the once common New Brunswick caribou would be an amazing achievment.

#2 TheCoachZed

TheCoachZed

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 327 posts

Posted 27 April 2012 - 05:24 PM

I think it's been tried, and failedm for two reasons.

One, whitetails carry a disease that's fatal to caribou. That's likely why they survived in NFLD, but not here.

Two, supposedly, they don't have the free-ranging capability they'd need, due to population/deforestation/development. Not sure I buy that one.

It really is too bad. I'd love to see the re-introduction of a woodland caribou herd, and I'm sure some brainy veterinary scientist types could figure out how to do it ... but it would take a lot of money, and nobody wants it that bad.

#3 Bowtech

Bowtech

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,549 posts
  • LocationBelleisle Creek

Posted 27 April 2012 - 06:23 PM

Parelaphostrongylus tenuis or brainworm, whitetail deer are the typical host and are unaffected by it but lethal to moose and caribou.
One of the reasons you don't find many moose where you have high concentrations of deer.
If I remember right they did bring some bou's into maine and they all died from brainworm. The last one was put in captivity until it's death I think.

I think with the influx of coyotes, high bear population, changing landscape and with that a reduction in type and amount of food sources along with an increase of whitetails (ie) brainworm it would be a near impossible task.